Cala Monachile | Polignano a Mare

The charming free beach of

Cala Monachile the beach in the city centre of Polignano a Mare


Located in the middle of the city centre of Polignano a Mare, the charming free little beach of Cala Monachile or Lama Monachile is wrapped up by two magnificent rocky cliffs.

This characteristic shape makes this, one of the best places in Puglia, definitely!

Cala Monachile is very famous for its charm. But, mostly because this bay – featured by a lot of white, round pebbles – gives an amazing, clear, turquoise and very clean sea.

This little beach gets every year the national blue flag, which means here there’s a perfect sea.

The location and the Roman bridge

Cala Monachile or Lama Monachile is situated in one of the natural geological water crack, typical of the Puglia’s karst territory.

Indeed this area, as well as the entire Apulian coast, is full of caves which are very interesting if you’re a lover of geological and natural matters.

Anyway Cala Monachile is one of the main attractive places of Polignano a Mare.

The view of Cala Monachile is enjoyable from the Roman bridge behind the bay.

The Roman bridge is located just on the the natural crack and comes across the historic Via Traiana.

The romantic town of Polignano a Mare

Actually it’s almost expected that the incredible panorama of Cala Monachile was located in the beautiful, stunning and awesome town of Polignano a Mare.

Maybe you don’t know yet, but it is something you cannot forget easily.

Polignano a Mare is the romantic town par excellence of Puglia, at least so far.

Citizens work together everyday for keeping it colorful, romantic and clean in order to give the best appearance of Polignano and increase the tourism.

People decorate their own places with colorful flowers and they keep the streets tidy and clean.

Then, there’s a Poet that, inspired by the sea and the beautiful narrow streets, started to write poems all around the town.

Walls, stairs, often walking trough the streets of Polignano a Mare you’ll meet romantic and evocative poems.

Restaurants, high quality accommodation and The Red Bull Cliff Diving

All around Cala Monachile and actually in the whole Polignano a Mare, there’re a lot of restaurants, pizzeria, wine bar and night clubs.

Here you’ll have some very tasty local food and wine and, obviously, a lot of fun. Furthermore this little town is also fully equipped with high quality accommodations for your holidays.

Concluding, every year, since ten years ago, Cala Monachile hosts a great sport competition: the Red Bull Cliff Diving.

During the Red Bull Final World Series the best divers of the world will face each other diving from one of the greatest location of Europe and United States.

Further information

Enjoying this little beach is free of charge, even during the Red Bull Cliff Diving.

For more info about the sport competition visit the proper web site.

Then if you would like to plan a tour at Polignano a Mare, please contact the Tourist Info Point directly by the contact area below.

Otherwise visit the Municipality official web site.

Cala Monachile - Lama Monachile | 70044 Polignano a Mare (BA)

Alberobello Info Point

Info point City Centre
Villa Comunale
Via Brigata Regina – Via Indipendenza

Tel. +39 392 9191825
info.alberobello@viaggiareinpuglia.it
alberobello@sistemamuseo.it

Andria Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 16
Tel. +39 0883 290231
info.andria@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Bari Info Point

Info point Airport
Arrival Area
Tel. +39 080 5361350
info.bariaeroporto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point City Centre
Piazza del Ferrarese, 29
Tel. +39 080 5242244
info.baricity@viaggiareinpuglia.it
infopointuristicobari@gmail.com

Barletta Info Point

Info point City Centre
C.so Garibaldi, 204/206
Tel. +39 0883 331331
iat@comune.barletta.bt.it
info.barletta@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Bovino Info Point

Info point City Centre
Corso Vittorio Emanuele 1
Tel. +39 0881 966475
info@prolocobovino.it

Brindisi Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Regina Margherita, 44
Tel. +39 0831 523072
info.brindisi@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point Airport
Arrival Area
Tel. +39 0831 412975
info.brindisiaeroporto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Castellana Grotte Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Matarrese
Tel. +39 335 1872857
castellanagrotte@sistemamuseo.it
info.castellanagrotte@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Castellana Marina Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Kennedy map
Tel. +39 099 843 3124
info.marina@castellaneta.gov.it

Ceglie Messapica Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Giuseppe Elia, 16 map
Tel. +39 0831 371003
info.cegliemessapica@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Cisternino Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Garibaldi 2
Tel. +39 080 4441100
info.cisternino@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Conversano Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza della Conciliazione 9
Tel. +39 080 4956517
iat@comune.conversano.ba.it

Fasano Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Ciaia, 10
Tel. +39 080 4394182
info@infopointfasano.com
info.fasano@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Francavilla Fontana Info Point

Info point City Centre
Castello Imperiali | Via Municipio, 4 map
Tel. +39 0831 811262
iat.francavilla@libero.it
info.francavilla@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Gallipoli Info Point

Info Point Municipality
Gallipoli Municipality | Via Antonietta De Pace, 86 map
Tel. +39 0833 262529
comune.gallipoli.le.@turismo.com
info.gallipoli@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Gravina in Puglia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Benedetto XIII, 17 map
Tel. +39 080 3269065
info@iatgravina.it
info.gravinainpuglia@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Laterza Info Point

Info point City Centre
Marchesale Palace | Piazza Plebiscito
Tel. 099 8296793
info.laterza@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Lecce Info Point

Info Point Sedile Palace
Sedile Palace | Piazza Sant’Oronzo
Tel. +39 0832 242099
info.lecce@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info Point Castle
Castle Carlo V | Viale XXV Luglio
Tel. +39 0832 246517
info.lecce@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Lesina Info Point

Info point National Park Visits Centre
Centro Visite | Via Banchina Vollaro, 147
Tel. +39 0882 707455
centrovisite@comunelesina.it

Leuca Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Savoia
Tel. 0833 758111
iatinfopointleuca@gmail.com

Locorotondo Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, 26
Tel. +39 080 4312788
locorotondo@sistemamuseo.it

Lucera Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Nocelli, 6
Tel. +39 800 767606
info.lucera@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Manfredonia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza della Libertà, 1
Tel. +39 0884 581998
info.manfredonia@viaggiareinpuglia.it
prolocomf@libero.it

Margherita di Savoia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Principe Amedeo, 4
Tel. +39 0883 654012
info.margheritadisavoia@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Martina Franca Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza XX Settembre, 3
Tel. +39 080 4805702
martinafranca@sistemamuseo.it
info.martinafranca@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Monopoli Info Point

Info point City Centre
Palazzo di Città | Via Garibaldi, 8
Tel. +39 080 4140264
info.monopoli@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Monte Sant’Angelo Info Point

Info point Castle
Castle | Via Roberto il Guiscardo, 1
Tel. +39 0884 562062
info.montesantangelo@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Mottola Info Point

Info point City Centre
Viale Jonio
Tel. +39 099 8867640
mottolaturismo@libero.it

Nardò Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Salandra
Tel. +39 0833 836928
infoturismonardo@gmail.com
info.nardo@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Ostuni Info Point

Info point City Centre
Corso Mazzini, 8
Tel. +39 0831 339627
info.ostuni@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Otranto Info Point

Info point Harbour
Harbour | Via del Porto
Tel. +39 0836 801436
info.otranto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point Castle
Castle | Piazza Castello
+39 0836 210407
info.otranto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Peschici Info Point

Polignano a Mare Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Martiri di Dogali, 2
Tel. +39 080 4252336
settore.turismo@comune.polignanoamare.ba.it

Rodi Garganico Info Point

Info point Municipality
Municipality | Piazza Giovanni XXIII
Tel. +39 0884 919432
info.rodigarganico@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point City Centre Summer Office
Piazza Rovelli
Tel. +39 0884 965576
info.rodigarganico@viaggiareinpuglia.it

San Giovanni Rotondo Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazzale Santa Maria delle Grazie
Tel. +39 0882 457698
info.sangiovannirotondo@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Sant’Agata di Puglia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Vico Farmacia, 8
Tel. +39 0881 984433
proloco.santagata@libero.it

Santa Cesarea Terme Info Point

Info point City Centre
Municipality | Via Roma,159
Tel. +39 0836 944043
info.santacesarea@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Taranto Info Point

Info point Castle
Castello Aragonese | Piazza Castello
Tel. +39 334 2844098
info.taranto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Torre dell’Orso Info Point

Info point Boardwalk
Via Lungomare Matteotti
Tel. +39 329 6585220
info@cirasalento.it

Trani Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Trieste, 8
Tel. +39 0883 588830
info.trani@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Troia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Giovanni XXIII
+39 0881 970020
info.troia@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Ugento Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Adolfo Colosso, 5
Tel. +39 833 555476
cig.ugento@tiscali.it
info.ugento@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Vieste Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Kennedy
Tel. +39 0884 708806
info.vieste@viaggiareinpuglia.it