Poetry Cave

The most beautiful natural swimming pool

History, culture and nature joined in the unique site of the Poetry Cave


There are breathtaking places in the world, you won’t have any words to describe the feeling you’ll have being in. The Poetry Cave | ita: Grotta della Poesia| is a place like so, definitely!

We were speechless in front of this stunning sight of nature, but we had to stay focused on it.

Actually it was so difficult, but we strongly wanted to shot some great pics.

So, we tried to don’t think about the amazing experience we could get diving and swimming in one of the most beautiful natural swimming pool in the whole world.

Exactly! The Poetry Cave | ita: Grotta della Poesia | is a natural swimming pool located in Roca Vecchia village, on the Adriatic Coast between the cities of Lecce and Otranto.

It is a part of the Marine Areas of Melendugno town and very close to other natural points of interest. Just a few minutes to reach the Two Sister Beach | ita: Spiaggia delle Due Sorelle | in Torre dell’Orso and The Sea Stacks of Sant’Andrea | ita: I Faraglioni di Sant’Andrea in the area of Torre Sant’Andrea (LE).

A little tour on the Adriatic Coast from Lecce to Otranto is a must!

Don’t miss these incredible places, then the delicious typical food made in Puglia will give you the power you need. But before coming at summer don’t forget a sun protection, it will save you experiencing the area.

Archaeology and history at Roca

The Poetry Cave | ita: Grotta della Poesia | is placed in a bigger Archaeological Site.

Next to it there are the ruins of the Castle walls, the sighting tower built during the sixteenth-century and the Sacred Place dedicated to the Madonna of Roca.

But most important is the second and smaller Poetry Cave, some km far from the main one. Both the caves have tunnels to get directly the sea, by swim or a little boat.

The Small Poetry Cave | ita: Grotta della Poesia Piccola | has more archaeological relevance because of the Messapian (but also Latin and Greek) inscriptions rediscovered on it by archaeologists.

Instead the most famous Poetry Cave | ita: Grotta della Poesia | is very charming for its elliptic shape and the bigger size which gives the chance to have a great bath after taking a huge dive of 5 meters.

Why they are known as Poetry Caves?

The name descend from a wonderful tale. Once upon a time there was a beautiful princess who loved swim in the clear water of the Cave, so, many poets came to Roca to dedicate their poems to her.

Otherwise there’s also a much more scientific reason why people call them Poetry Caves.

In the Greek language “Posia” is a water source, then probably that gave the name to this site, that obviously has a very long history.

We really advice a little stop to admire this amazing landscape, but also to enjoy the clear blue-green water of the Poetry Cave.

Some important suggestions: first bring your own swimsuit and the sun protection, then very important are also proper shoes to walk on the rock, it’s more safe!

Now, watch the pics we made at the Poetry Cave, start dreaming your trip in Puglia and swimming in its clear sea water!

Click on the map below to directly get the direction by Google Maps.

Poetry Caves | Roca Vecchia | 73026 Melendugno (LE)

Alberobello Info Point

Info point City Centre
Villa Comunale
Via Brigata Regina – Via Indipendenza

Tel. +39 392 9191825
info.alberobello@viaggiareinpuglia.it
alberobello@sistemamuseo.it

Andria Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 16
Tel. +39 0883 290231
info.andria@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Bari Info Point

Info point Airport
Arrival Area
Tel. +39 080 5361350
info.bariaeroporto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point City Centre
Piazza del Ferrarese, 29
Tel. +39 080 5242244
info.baricity@viaggiareinpuglia.it
infopointuristicobari@gmail.com

Barletta Info Point

Info point City Centre
C.so Garibaldi, 204/206
Tel. +39 0883 331331
iat@comune.barletta.bt.it
info.barletta@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Bovino Info Point

Info point City Centre
Corso Vittorio Emanuele 1
Tel. +39 0881 966475
info@prolocobovino.it

Brindisi Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Regina Margherita, 44
Tel. +39 0831 523072
info.brindisi@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point Airport
Arrival Area
Tel. +39 0831 412975
info.brindisiaeroporto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Castellana Grotte Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Matarrese
Tel. +39 335 1872857
castellanagrotte@sistemamuseo.it
info.castellanagrotte@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Castellana Marina Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Kennedy map
Tel. +39 099 843 3124
info.marina@castellaneta.gov.it

Ceglie Messapica Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Giuseppe Elia, 16 map
Tel. +39 0831 371003
info.cegliemessapica@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Cisternino Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Garibaldi 2
Tel. +39 080 4441100
info.cisternino@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Conversano Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza della Conciliazione 9
Tel. +39 080 4956517
iat@comune.conversano.ba.it

Fasano Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Ciaia, 10
Tel. +39 080 4394182
info@infopointfasano.com
info.fasano@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Francavilla Fontana Info Point

Info point City Centre
Castello Imperiali | Via Municipio, 4 map
Tel. +39 0831 811262
iat.francavilla@libero.it
info.francavilla@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Gallipoli Info Point

Info Point Municipality
Gallipoli Municipality | Via Antonietta De Pace, 86 map
Tel. +39 0833 262529
comune.gallipoli.le.@turismo.com
info.gallipoli@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Gravina in Puglia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Benedetto XIII, 17 map
Tel. +39 080 3269065
info@iatgravina.it
info.gravinainpuglia@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Laterza Info Point

Info point City Centre
Marchesale Palace | Piazza Plebiscito
Tel. 099 8296793
info.laterza@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Lecce Info Point

Info Point Sedile Palace
Sedile Palace | Piazza Sant’Oronzo
Tel. +39 0832 242099
info.lecce@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info Point Castle
Castle Carlo V | Viale XXV Luglio
Tel. +39 0832 246517
info.lecce@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Lesina Info Point

Info point National Park Visits Centre
Centro Visite | Via Banchina Vollaro, 147
Tel. +39 0882 707455
centrovisite@comunelesina.it

Leuca Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Savoia
Tel. 0833 758111
iatinfopointleuca@gmail.com

Locorotondo Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, 26
Tel. +39 080 4312788
locorotondo@sistemamuseo.it

Lucera Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Nocelli, 6
Tel. +39 800 767606
info.lucera@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Manfredonia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza della Libertà, 1
Tel. +39 0884 581998
info.manfredonia@viaggiareinpuglia.it
prolocomf@libero.it

Margherita di Savoia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Principe Amedeo, 4
Tel. +39 0883 654012
info.margheritadisavoia@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Martina Franca Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza XX Settembre, 3
Tel. +39 080 4805702
martinafranca@sistemamuseo.it
info.martinafranca@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Monopoli Info Point

Info point City Centre
Palazzo di Città | Via Garibaldi, 8
Tel. +39 080 4140264
info.monopoli@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Monte Sant’Angelo Info Point

Info point Castle
Castle | Via Roberto il Guiscardo, 1
Tel. +39 0884 562062
info.montesantangelo@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Mottola Info Point

Info point City Centre
Viale Jonio
Tel. +39 099 8867640
mottolaturismo@libero.it

Nardò Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Salandra
Tel. +39 0833 836928
infoturismonardo@gmail.com
info.nardo@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Ostuni Info Point

Info point City Centre
Corso Mazzini, 8
Tel. +39 0831 339627
info.ostuni@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Otranto Info Point

Info point Harbour
Harbour | Via del Porto
Tel. +39 0836 801436
info.otranto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point Castle
Castle | Piazza Castello
+39 0836 210407
info.otranto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Peschici Info Point

Polignano a Mare Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Martiri di Dogali, 2
Tel. +39 080 4252336
settore.turismo@comune.polignanoamare.ba.it

Rodi Garganico Info Point

Info point Municipality
Municipality | Piazza Giovanni XXIII
Tel. +39 0884 919432
info.rodigarganico@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Info point City Centre Summer Office
Piazza Rovelli
Tel. +39 0884 965576
info.rodigarganico@viaggiareinpuglia.it

San Giovanni Rotondo Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazzale Santa Maria delle Grazie
Tel. +39 0882 457698
info.sangiovannirotondo@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Sant’Agata di Puglia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Vico Farmacia, 8
Tel. +39 0881 984433
proloco.santagata@libero.it

Santa Cesarea Terme Info Point

Info point City Centre
Municipality | Via Roma,159
Tel. +39 0836 944043
info.santacesarea@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Taranto Info Point

Info point Castle
Castello Aragonese | Piazza Castello
Tel. +39 334 2844098
info.taranto@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Torre dell’Orso Info Point

Info point Boardwalk
Via Lungomare Matteotti
Tel. +39 329 6585220
info@cirasalento.it

Trani Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Trieste, 8
Tel. +39 0883 588830
info.trani@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Troia Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Giovanni XXIII
+39 0881 970020
info.troia@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Ugento Info Point

Info point City Centre
Via Adolfo Colosso, 5
Tel. +39 833 555476
cig.ugento@tiscali.it
info.ugento@viaggiareinpuglia.it

Vieste Info Point

Info point City Centre
Piazza Kennedy
Tel. +39 0884 708806
info.vieste@viaggiareinpuglia.it